BALDWIN COUNTY BUILDING DEPARTMENT

SWORN STATEMENT OF PARTY CLAIMING EXEMPTION FROM THE
REQUIREMENTS OF THE STATE OF ALABAMA

HOME BUILDERS LICENSURE LAW
ALA. CODES§ 34-14A-1(1975), et seq.

This form is required by the Baldwin County Building Department during the permit application process for
residential construction with a job valuation over $10,000 when the party responsible for construction is the
property owner who does not hold an active “Home Builders License” from the State of Alabama Home
Builders Licensure Board. This form is also required during the permit application process for residential
roofing work with a job valuation over $2,500 when the party responsible for construction is the property owner
who does not hold an active “Roofers License” from the State of Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board.

| do hereby solemnly swear that |, or the business entity of which | am the designated qualifying representative,
am exempt from the licensing requirements of the State of Alabama Home Builders Licensure law pursuant to
Section 34-14A-5 for the following reason:

| am the Property Owner acting as my own contractor and providing all material supervision myself on property
for my own occupancy or use, and not offered for sale. | do not intend to use this permit for the constructing or
superintending of the construction of any residential building or structure for sale. (Proof of the sale, or offering
for sale, of structure by an owner-builder within one year after substantial completion of same is presumptive
evidence that the construction was undertaken for the purpose of sale). Section 34-14A-6(5). | understand
that this exemption is not transferable. | will not hire or compensate anyone to supervise the building
or improvement of this residence.

| understand that by claiming exempt status, | waive my rights for protection under the provisions of the Home
Builders Licensure law and that in the event of litigation involving activities resulting from the grant of this
permit, | may not make demand of any money from the Homeowner's Recovery Fund, established by the
Home Builders Licensure law. | sign this statement under penalties of perjury.

Property Address (include city):

Parcel Identification Number:

Property Owner’s Printed Name Witness’ Printed Name
Property Owner’s Signature Witness’ Signature
Business Name Listed on Property Deed, Date
if applicable
*Violation of the Alabama Home Builders
Date Licensure Law is a Class A misdemeanor (§34-
14A-14) punishable by up to 12 months in jail
and fines up to $6,000.00.
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