A Guide to obtaining a tag and title in Baldwin County

Motor vehicles more than thirty-five (35) model years old are not required to be titled.  This information includes a simple list of requirements for titling and purchasing a tag for vehicles:
 Dealer Sale
NOTE: Alabama requires your vehicle be covered by liability insurance, you must bring proof of insurance (i.e. insurance card) to purchase your tag.
 Along with your insurance card, if vehicle purchased from a dealer in Alabama, bring the following:

  1. Alabama requires proof of liability insurance to purchase your tag. . . read the requirement
  2. Alabama Department of Revenue title application (yellow copy), or original title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO).
  3. Bill of Sale or invoice (no buyer's orders or purchase agreements will be accepted).  Sales tax must be itemized.
  4. Dealer's affidavit, if dealer brought vehicle in from another state.
  5. Surrender any plates left on newly acquired vehicle.
  6. Bring in legible copy of most recent tag registration receipt from previous owner.
  7. If you have an Alabama plate that is to be placed on the newly acquired vehicle, bring it or the matching tag registration receipt.  
  8. If your vehicle was purchased from an out-of-state dealer, who did not apply for an Alabama title, you MUST bring the vehicle to be inspected by personnel at the motor vehicle office in order to verify that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) on the vehicle matches the title or registration documents.
  9. Valid driver's license or state issued ID; please click here for other forms of acceptable ID. (Administrative Rule 810-5-8-.09)
  10. By law, the specific individual(s) who has purchased a vehicle must personally apply for his/her Alabama title certificate and license plates.  Unless a power of attorney form is completed by the legal owner and notarized, no other person (even a spouse or other family member) may complete these transactions.  If two people are named on the title and their names are joined by "and," both must come in or give the other person a power of attorney; if the names are joined by "or" either may come in.  If your vehicle is leased bring the power of attorney form and a copy of the lease purchase agreement provided by your leasing company.  The power of attorney form gives you authority to register on behalf of the leasing company.
  11. Odometer reading is required for any transfer of a motor vehicle less than ten (10) years old and under 16,000 lbs. GVW.  Disclosure may be entered on the title if there is space for it.
  12. Utility Trailers: If purchasing a new utility trailer from a dealer, the utility trailer must be present for inspection prior to registration. You must present a bill of sale, manufacturers statement of origin, and all VIN stickers must be adhered to the trailer. If purchasing a utility trailer from an individual from Alabama, the utility trailer must be present if it has not been registered for more than 2 years. If purchasing a utility trailer from an individual from out of state, the utility trailer must be present prior to registration. A bill of sale is required for registration. There should also be a proper VIN adhered to the utility trailer.
35 years and Newer:  Casual Sale If purchased from an individual with Alabama title, bring the following:
  1. Title (completely filled out and signed over by the seller).  If your title has been lost, you must apply for a duplicate certificate from the state of issuance.
  2. You must present a bill of sale, the bill of sale must be notarized or have two (2) witnesses that are not related to the buyer or seller.
  3. Surrender any plates left on newly acquired vehicle.
  4. Bring in legible copy of most recent tag registration receipt from previous owner.
  5. If you have an Alabama plate that is to be placed on the newly acquired vehicle, bring it or the matching tag registration receipt.   
  6. By law, the specific individual(s) who has purchased a vehicle must personally apply for his/her Alabama title certificate and license plates.  Unless a power of attorney form is completed by the legal owner and notarized, no other person (even a spouse or other family member) may complete these transactions.  If two people are named on the title and their names are joined by "and," both must come in or give the other person a power of attorney; if the names are joined by "or" either may come in.
  7. Valid driver's license or state issued ID; please click here for other forms of acceptable ID. (Administrative Rule 810-5-8-.09)
  8. Odometer reading is required for any transfer of a motor vehicle less than ten (10) years old and under 16,000 lbs. GVW.  Disclosure may be entered on the title if there is space for it.
  9. If you purchased your vehicle from an individual with an out of state title, you must bring the vehicle to be inspected by personnel at the motor vehicle office in order to verify that the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) on the vehicle matches the title or registration documents.
  10. Title Application Fee:   $18.00

Contact Us

Bay Minette
map ​or street view
(not in courthouse)
220 Courthouse Square
Bay Minette, AL 36507
Phone: 251.937.0260

Fairhope - map
1100 Fairhope Avenue
Fairhope, AL 36532
Phone: 251.​990.4645

Foley - map
201 East Section Avenue
Foley, AL 36535
Phone: 251.​972.6845

Robertsdale - map
Central Annex
22251 Palmer Street
Robertsdale, AL 36567
Phone: 251.​970.4098