Baldwin County Environmental Advisory Board (EAB)

<u>History</u>

The EAB was created by the Baldwin County Commission, with a motion by Commissioner Dean Hansen and a second by Commissioner Wendy Allen, during the May 18, 1993, regular meeting. The EAB operates under By-laws approved during the January 6, 1998, regular meeting, as amended and approved during the February 15, 2005, regular meeting. The Commission at the time, included Samuel Jenkins, Sr., Frank Burt, Jr., Michael Allegri, Dean Hansen, Wendy Allen, Mike Harper, and Don Koontz.



EAB Logo

The mission of the Baldwin County Environmental Advisory Board is to provide policy advice on environmental matters to the Baldwin County Commission; provide public information about environmental matters by way of news articles, speeches and presentations, educational seminars, etc.; and study such environmental issues as may be suggested by the County Commission, Board members, County staff, and the public.

The May 28, 2013, EAB Annual Award Presentation was the last documentation that was found in this effort. With lack of support and participation, the EAB disbanded late in 2013.

PAST ACCOMPLISHMENTS & AGENDA TOPICS

- Prepared Environmental Handbook, which was first distributed in 1995 and revised and reissued in 1999.
- Assessed environmental priorities through a series of Board-organized meetings and workshops attended by elected officials, agency staff, and the public, which were held in 1994, 1995, and 1996.
- Organized and managed Environmental Awards Program from 1998 to 2013 except for 2011 and 2012. Over 80 citizens, companies, and agencies were recognized by the Commission for their environmental accomplishments.
- Inspected and reported on dirt pit operations in the County.
- Prepared the 2010 report of the 25 Most Environmentally Damaging Dirt Road of Baldwin county, Alabama.



2002 EAB Annual Meeting

• Wrote monthly articles on environmental issues, which were published in Gulf Coast Newspapers.

- Individual Board members participated in various environmental task forces, committees, and panels.
- Water Well Protection
- Rate Evaluation of Private Sewerage Companies
- Sedimentation from Construction
- Hazardous Wastes Management
- Air Quality Program Development
- Recycle Program Development
- Master Plan, Subdivision, and Zoning Regulation Review and Approval
- Dirt Pit Legislation
- Baldwin County Wetland Conservation Plan 2005
- Subdivision Project and Permit Review
- Proposed Tree Ordinance
- Strategic Plan Update
- Comprehensive Plan Review
- Red Clay Legislation
- Stormwater Coalition
- Forever Wild Program Support

1993 Original Members

District	Name	Last Name	Area
2	Tom	Ellis	Fairhope
2	Ron	Heveran	Fairhope
2	Ack	Moore	Daphne
2	Dean	Mosher	Fairhope
2	Sara	Pierce	Fairhope
2	Gay & Jack	Rick	Fairhope
2	Claudia	Rogers	Fairhope
2	Eleanor	Scott	Fairhope
3	George	Kaiser	Elberta
3	James	Sellers	Summerdale
4	William	French	Gulf Shores
4	Carol	Ines	Gulf Shores
4	Melody	Hopkins	Orange Beach
	Staff		
	Phillip	Hinesley	Fairhope
	Steve	Tapia	Fairhope

2013 Members (Prior to Disbanding)

District	First Name	Last Name	Area
1	Lynn	Bozone	Stockton
1	John	Carlton	Mobile
2	Everett	Smith	Fairhope
2	Hank	Burch	Fairhope
2	Elanore	Scott	Fairhope
3	Tom	Haase	Loxley
3	Kelly	Brinkman	Robertsdale
4	Leslie	Gahagan	Elberta
4	George	Kaiser	Elberta

4	John	Griggs	Foley
4	Dennis	Hatfield	Foley
4	Robert	Gross	Elberta
4	Thomas	Schmitz	Lillian