Awards Program – Past Recipients

Since the inception of the Environmental Advisory Board Awards Program in 1998, the Baldwin County Commission has recognized the following individuals, agencies, and organizations for their environmental leadership and stewardship of Baldwin County's natural resources.

INDIVIDUAL CITIZENS:

- 1998 Webster and Min MacCartee, Silverhill, Minamac Wildflower Bog.
- 1999 Davida R. Hastie, Environmentalist, Friends of the Tensaw
- 1999 Ed Jackson, Water Quality Activist, Wolf Bay Watershed Watch
- 2000 Dr. John L. Borom, Director, Fairhope Campus, Faulkner State Community College
- 2000 Fred Nation, Native Plant Expert
- 2001 Chan West, Fort Morgan Naturalist
- 2002 Garland Sims
- 2003 Larry McDuff
- 2004 Dr. Harry Larsen
- 2006 Bob and Polly Simpson
- 2007 Stan Mahoney
- 2008 David Yeager
- 2009 Leslie Lassiter
- 2010 Arthur Dyas
- 2010 Jim Horner
- 2013 Mark Greskovich
- 2013 Gary Gover
- 2013 Richard Odess
- 2013 Tom Hutchings
- 2013 Ashley Campbell
- 2022 Cathy Banning
- 2022 Michael Jordan
- 2022 Wade Burcham
- 2023 Jackie McGonigal
- 2024 Pitman, Turner & Milling Families, TiTi Swamp Land Donation

SMALL BUSINESS:

- 1998 Dixie Oaks Conoco, Marlow, John, and Michael Wilson
- 2000 Audubon Park Apartments, Stillman Knight, Owner
- 2001 eGo Vehicles, Allen Smith, Owner
- 2002 Wetland Resources, Inc. Gena Todia
- 2003 Kicks on the Styx, Vicky McIntyre
- 2004 Alms Pump Service, Mickey Alms
- 2007 Ike's Beach Service, Inc., Ike Williams
- 2008 Blue Water Ships Stores of Alabama
- 2009 LuLu's at Homeport Marina
- 2010 Starr Textile Services
- 2013 Jade Consulting, LLC-Trey Jinright, P.E.
- 2022 Osprey Initiative, Don Bates
- 2023 Daphne Utilities, Natural Gas Vehicle Program
- 2024 Cooper Farm, 4-H Community Club

LARGE BUSINESS:

- 1998 Flowerwood Nursery, Loxley.
- 2000 Ace Hardware Distribution Center, Loxley (Butler Construction Co.)
- 2001 Baldwin County EMC
- 2006 Sunbelt Environmental, Inc., Jeff Claunch
- 2008 Riviera Utilities
- 2009 Grand Hotel Marriott Resort, Golf Club & Spa
- 2010 Thompson Engineering
- 2022 The Lodge at Gulf State Park, Chandra Wright
- 2023 Porch Creek Indians, Coastal Clean Up Sponsorship
- 2024 Grand Hotel, Sustainable Business Practices

ENVIRONMENTAL ORGANIZATION:

- 1998 Weeks Bay Reserve Foundation, Skipper Tonsmeire
- 1999 Baldwin County Master Gardeners, Judy Smith, and Ed Tunnell
- 2000 Wolf Bay Watershed Watch, Gene Labrato, President
- 2001 Coastal Land Trust, Skipper Tonsmeire, President
- 2002 Bay Area Earth Day Committee
- 2003 Laguna Key Volunteer Group
- 2004 Fairhope High School, Environmental Science Club
- 2006 The Nature Conservancy of Alabama, Jeff Danter
- 2008 Smart Coast
- 2009 Southeastern Wildlife Conservation Group
- 2010 Mobile Bay National Estuary Program
- 2013 Graham Creek Nature Preserve
- 2023 Western Shore of Perdido Bay, Watershed Plan Steering Committee
- 2024 Tom & Laurie Eberly, Little Lagoon Oyster Gardening Program

EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM:

- 1998 Biophilia Nature Center, Elberta, Carol Lovell-Saas and Fred Saas.
- 1999 Daphne Middle School Environmental Education, Jeanne Fox
- 2000 The Pelican's Nest Science Lab, Fairhope K-1 Center
- 2001 Pam Henson, Baldwin County School System
- 2002 Weeks Bay Reserve Education Program, Margaret Sedlecky
- 2003 Baldwin County High, Judy Reeves
- 2004 Daphne High School, Agri-Science, Lance Harbison
- 2006 Alabama Coastal Birdfest, Fran Morely and Dr. John Borom
- 2007 Delta Elementary School, Leah Ann Overstreet, and Sandy Johnson
- 2008 Baldwin County Master Gardeners Association, Sam Andrews, and Susan Wingard
- 2009 Baldwin County Water Festival
- 2010 Baldwin County Master Environmental Educators
- 2022 Dr. Betsy Tipton Daphne High School Watershed Acres
- 2023 Riviera Utilities, MEE, Volunteer Program
- 2024 Jessica Sampley, Gulf Shores High Career Tech Program

GOVERNMENT AGENCY:

- 1998 Natural Resources Conservation Service, Baldwin County Office
- 1999 City of Fairhope Recycling & Hazardous Waste Program, Kim Smith, Director
- 2000 Utilities Board, City of Gulf Shores
- 2001 FWS Daphne Ecological Services, Larry Goldman, Director
- 2002 City of Foley
- 2003 Magnolia Landfill, Jim Ransom
- 2004 Daphne Utilities Board, Art Rigas
- 2006 City of Daphne, Mayor Fred Small
- 2007 Daphne Utilities Oil Recycling and Biodiesel Programs
- 2009 Town of Magnolia Springs
- 2010 City of Orange Beach
- 2022 City of Fairhope, Richard Johnson
- 2023 ADCNR, Land Acquisitions, Chris Blankenship
- 2024 Orange Beach Wildlife Center, Wildlife Rehab & Restoration

STUDENT INITIATIVE:

- 2009 Bay Minette Intermediate School
- 2023 Oliver Caver
- 2024 Cade Kichler, Lillian Recreational Park Wildlife

AGRICULTURAL/FORESTRY:

- 1998 Penry Farms, Daphne Bill Penry, Owner
- 1999 Donald Underwood
- 2001 Bee Natural Farm, Fairhope Gwen Snyder & Phil Strniste, Owners
- 2002 Smithfield Farms, Stockton, AL
- 2003 Mullek Farms, Mullek family
- 2004 Dr. Charles Henry Bryars, III
- 2006 Dr. Tommy Swearingen
- 2023 Alabama Cooperative Extension System, Learn to Burn & Prescribed Fire Outreach
- 2024 Baldwin County Soil & Water Conservation, Conservation AG Education Program

SPECIAL RECOGNITION AWARDS:

- 1999 Jerry Knaebel, Associate Member BCEAB, Dirt Roads Study, BC Sewer Systems Study
- 2000 Joey Bunch, Mobile Register Environmental Reporter
- 2001 Peter Wiese, Geologist
- 2002 Fairhope United Methodist Church
- 2003 Unitarian Church
- 2004 Ms. Sonya Wood-Mahler
- 2007 City of Gulf Shores and Share the Beach
- 2008 Ms. Nancy Raia of the Eastern Shore Art Center
- 2009 League of Women Voters of Baldwin County
- 2009 Cooperative Effort Between Multiple Agencies and Organizations for Protection of the Alabama Red-Bellied Turtle
- 2022 Brett Gaar
- 2023 City of Foley & National Fish Wildlife Foundation, Bon Secour River Constructed Wetlands Project
- 2024 In Memory Andrew Ernest James

NON-PROFIT:

- 2006 Alabama Gulf Coast Convention and Visitors Bureau, Colette Boehm, and Herb Malone
- 2022 Little Lagoon Preservation Society, Dennis Hatfield
- 2023 Student Conservation Association, GulfCorps

EDUCATION TEACHER:

2024 Tammy Grace, Environmental Education

GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEE:

2024 Angie Eckman, Water Watch Steward