Alabama Marriage Certificate

ADPH-HS-50/Rev. 8/2023 State File Number 1 0
SPOUSE 1 1. NAME: First Middle Last 2. LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE | 3. DATE OF BIRTH (Month, Day, Year)
INFORMATION
4. SEX (Male or Female) | 5. RACE (optional) (Specify American Indian, Black, 6. RESIDENCE COUNTY 7. RESIDENCE STATE
[JGROOM White, efc.)
[ IBRIDE 8. NO. OF PREVIOUS MARRIAGES | 9. IF PREVIOUSLY MARRIED, REASON LAST MARRIAGE ENDED (Specify Death, 10. STATE OR FOREIGN COUNTRY OF BIRTH
Divorce, Dissolution, Annulment)
[1SPOUSE
11. FATHER/PARENT NAME (First, Middle, Last Name Prior to First Marriage) 12. MOTHER/PARENT NAME (First, Middle, Last Name Prior to First Marriage)
PO 13. NAME: First Middle Last 14. LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE | 15. DATE OF BIRTH (Month, Day, Year)
OR A O
16. SEX (Male or Female) | 17. RACE (optional) (Specify American Indian, Black, 18. RESIDENCE COUNTY 19. RESIDENCE STATE
[ ] BRIDE White, etc.)
[ JGROOM 20. NO. OF PREVIOUS MARRIAGES | 21. IF PREVIOUSLY MARRIED, REASON LAST MARRIAGE ENDED (Specify Death, 22. STATE OR FOREIGN COUNTRY OF BIRTH
Divorce, Dissolution, Annulment)
[1SPOUSE
23. FATHER/PARENT NAME (First, Middle, Last Name Prior to First Marriage) 24. MOTHER/PARENT NAME (First, Middle, Last Name Prior to First Marriage)
A DA Our notarized signatures below affirm that neither of us is currently married, each of us is legally competent to enter into a marriage, and we are not related by blood or adoption such that
0O Yo the marriage would violate §13A-13-3, Code of Alabama, 1975. Each of us is entering into the marriage voluntarily and of our own free will and not under duress or undue influence, and
we are 16 years of age or older. THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE MARRIAGE IS THE LATTER OF THE DATES OF OUR SIGNATURES BELOW.
25. SPOUSE 1 SIGNATURE: DATE: 26. SPOUSE 2 SIGNATURE: DATE:
27. ALABAMA NOTARY SEAL: 28. ALABAMA NOTARY SEAL:
My Commission expires: My Commission expires:
29. ALABAMA NOTARY SIGNATURE: DATE: 30. ALABAMA NOTARY SIGNATURE: DATE:
FOR MARRIAGE TO BE VALID, THIS FORM If either or both parties to the marriage are under the age of 18, but at least 16 years of age, and

MUST BE DELIVERED TO PROBATE COURT FOR have not been previously married, the consent of a parent or guardian is required. The consenting
RECORDING WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE LATTER parent(s)/guardian(s) must complete and attach the Affidavit of Consent to this marriage certificate.
OF THE DATES OF THE SPOUSES’ SIGNATURES. Both pages must be presented together to the probate court in order for the marriage to be valid.

TO BE 31. DATE RECEIVED BY PROBATE COURT | 32. BOOK/PAGE/INSTRUMENT NUMBER 33. COUNTY OF RECORDING PROBATE COURT

COMPLETED BY
PROBATE COURT

DO NOT STAMP BELOW LINE

34. SPOUSE 1 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 35. SPOUSE 2 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
- - - - APPEAR ON CERTIFIED COPIES

36. SPOUSE 1 CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS AND DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER 37. SPOUSE 2 CURRENT MAILING ADDRESS AND DAYTIME PHONE NUMBER

THIS INFORMATION WILL NOT




State of Alabama
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Instructions for Completing and Filing an Alabama Marriage Certificate (for Adults)

Pursuant to Alabama Act 2019-340, persons wishing to marry in Alabama are no longer required to file an
application for a marriage license with the county probate court, and the courts will no longer issue marriage licenses.
The Alabama Marriage Certificate form should be completed by the persons entering into the marriage and delivered
to the probate court for recording. Once properly completed and recorded by the probate court, the marriage is legal.
A wedding ceremony may be performed, but a ceremony is no longer required for a recognized marriage in Alabama.

IT IS IMPORTANT THAT YOU FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS BELOW. FAILURE TO
PROPERLY COMPLETE THE FORM AND DELIVER IT TO THE PROBATE COURT WITHIN THE
TIME REQUIRED MAY AFFECT THE VALIDITY OF YOUR MARRIAGE.

This form appears in fillable pdf format and may be printed once all required fields have been completed. Persons
without computer access may be able to obtain printed copies of the form for completion by hand from some county
probate courts. HANDWRITTEN FORMS SHOULD BE PRINTED AND LEGIBLE. THIS IS THE ONLY
DOCUMENT YOU WILL RECEIVE AS PROOF OF YOUR MARRIAGE.

1. Spouse 1 should complete Blocks 1 through 12 (Block 5 is optional) and Blocks 34 and 36, providing all of the
requested information, and mark the appropriate block to the left as “Groom,” “Bride,” or “Spouse.” Be sure
to enter Spouse 1’s Social Security Number in Block 34 and current mailing address and daytime phone
number in Block 36. This information will not appear on certified copies of the Marriage Certificate.

2. Spouse 2 should complete Blocks 13 through 24 (Block 17 is optional) and Blocks 35 and 37, providing all of the
requested information, and mark the appropriate block to the left as “Bride,” “Groom,” or “Spouse.” Be sure
to enter Spouse 2’s Social Security Number in Block 35 and current mailing address and daytime phone
number in Block 37. This information will not appear on certified copies of the Marriage Certificate.

3. Prepare to print the Marriage Certificate form. Check your printer settings to ensure that the printer is set to print
as actual size, not “fit to page” or another modified size. The entire form should be printed on one page (front
side only) of 8.5 x 11 inch white or light paper.

4. Spouse 1 must sign and date (month/day/year) the printed form in Block 25. Spouse 1’s signature must be
witnessed by an Alabama notary in Block 29. A form notarized by a non-Alabama notary shall not be accepted.
The notary should place his/her notary seal or stamp and commission expiration date on the form in Block 27.
Information on the form cannot be changed or added once the form has been notarized.

5. Spouse 2 must sign and date (month/day/year) the printed form in Block 26. Spouse 2’s signature must be
witnessed by an Alabama notary in Block 30. A form notarized by a non-Alabama notary shall not be accepted.
The notary should place his/her notary seal or stamp and commission expiration date on the form in Block 28.
Information on the form cannot be changed or added once the form has been notarized.

6. By signing the form, each spouse is affirming that all of the following are true: he/she is not currently married;
he/she is legally competent to enter into a marriage; the spouses are not related by blood or adoption such that the
marriage would violate §13A-13-3, Code of Alabama, 1975; he/she is entering into the marriage voluntarily and of
his/her own free will and not under duress or undue influence; and he/she is 16 years of age or older.

7. Blocks 31 through 33 are for court use only,. DO NOT MARK IN OR COMPLETE BLOCKS 31
THROUGH 33.

8. The original completed, signed, and notarized form must be delivered to an Alabama county probate court for
recording within 30 days of the latter of the dates of the spouses’ signatures. DO NOT SEND FORM
DIRECTLY TO THE ALABAMA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH, CENTER FOR HEALTH
STATISTICS. For more information, see the Frequently Asked Questions at http://www.alabamapublic
health.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html.

9. You must pay the required recording fee to the judge of probate at the time you present your form to the probate
court. You may request a certified copy from the court when you record your Marriage Certificate (an additional
fee may be imposed by the court for certified copies). The probate court will keep the original form and forward
the certificate to the Center for Health Statistics. The Center for Health Statistics will file and maintain the
certificate in its records.


http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html
http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html

State of Alabama
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH
Instructions for Completing and Filing an Alabama Marriage Certificate (for Adults)

10. Once the certificate has been received and filed by the Center for Health Statistics, you may request additional
certified copies of the certificate in person at any Alabama county health department. For instructions on how to
request certified copies of the certificate in person, online, by mail, or by phone, visit the Department’s website
at http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html.

11. If properly recorded by the probate court within 30 days of the latter of the dates of the spouses’ signatures,
THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE MARRIAGE IS THE LATTER OF THE DATES OF THE SPOUSES’
SIGNATURES.

Questions? Consult the Frequently Asked Questions at http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-
certificates.html.



http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html
http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html
http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/vitalrecords/marriage-certificates.html
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