Marriage License (Bay Minette Only)


BALDWIN COUNTY JUDGE OF PROBATE HARRY M. D'OLIVE, JR. ISSUES STATEMENT REGARDING NEW MARRIAGE LAW EFFECTIVE AUGUST 29, 2019. 


If you are getting married after August 28, 2019, please read the press release in the link below regarding important marriage law changes:

PRESS RELEASE - MARRIAGE LAW CHANGES EFFECTIVE AUGUST 29, 2019        

The current licenses issued for marriage are valid through August 28, 2019. If a couple plans to get married August 29, 2019 or later, they will need to comply with the new law and procedure.


 
If you are planning to marry before August 28, 2019, continue to follow the below procedures.


The legal age to marry in Alabama is 18. However, if you are 16 to 17, you may obtain a license if both parents are present with valid identification and they consent in writing. You must also present a copy of your birth certificate, certified by the State, County or other Foreign issued forms of identification.

If you are 18 or older, you must provide a valid government issued photo I.D., a drivers license, non-drivers license, or passport.
 
If you have been divorced, please be prepared to tell us when. You may not apply for a license within 60 days after your divorce was granted unless you are remarrying your former spouse.
 
A marriage license is valid in Alabama for 30 days from the date it is issued. A premarital blood test is no longer required in Alabama and there is no required waiting period after the license is purchased.
 
Marriage License are issued at the central office in Bay Minette, Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 and 3. If you plan to arrive in the afternoon, you should be here no later than 2:30 to avoid last minute delays. The licensing process takes about 15 minutes. The prospective couple must be present to obtain a marriage license.

The fee for a Marriage License is $70.00. The acceptable form of payment is cash, credit card, cashier's check or money order. No personal or business checks will be accepted. The Probate Judge and Probate Chief Clerk no longer perform wedding ceremonies.
 
If you need a certified copy of a marriage license that was issued in Baldwin county, you can either come into the Probate office in Bay Minette or mail your request. Certified copies are $3 each. On your mailed request, please include the month, day and year of the marriage, and names of the couple. You can mail your request to:

Judge of Probate
Marriage License Section
P.O. Box 459
Bay Minette, AL  36507

Please include a return address on your mailed request. Money orders and cashier’s checks are acceptable for mail-in requests and money orders, cashier’s checks, cash and credit cards are acceptable forms of payment for in-office requests.


Contact Us

Bay Minette Location Only:
Physical Address:
220 Courthouse Square
Bay Minette, Alabama 36507
251.937.0260

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 459
Bay Minette, AL 36507

Search Marriage License