Building Department Quick Links

FIND A CONTRACTOR OR GET LICENSED AS A CONTRACTOR:
 Alabama General Contractors Board
Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board
Alabama Manufactured Housing Commission
Alabama Electrical Contractors Board
Alabama Heating & Air Conditioning Contractors Board
Alabama Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board

FIND A PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER OR LAND SURVEYOR:
Alabama Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors

CONTRACTOR REQUIREMENTS:
Ask to see their license!!!

All contractors working in the Baldwin County permitting jurisdiction are required to hold an active State of Alabama business license that is issued through any county in the state. For information on how to obtain the required business license, visit the County's Probate Office website at https://baldwincountyal.gov/Government/probate/licenses/business-license.

Contractors who will repair or replace a residential roof with a job valuation (cost of labor & materials) over $2,500.00 are required to hold a home builders roofers license and a $10,000.00 bond. A contractor with an unlimited home builders license is also qualified to repair or replace a residential roof. You may search for licensed residential roofers and home builders on the State of Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board website at https://hblb.alabama.gov/.

Contractors who work with residential structures with a job valuation (cost of labor & materials) over $10,000.00 are required to have a home builders unlimited or limited license. If the work involves more than one trade and/or affects structural integrity, the builder is required to have an unlimited license. You may search for licensed home builders on the State of Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board website at https://hblb.alabama.gov/.

Contractors who work with non-residential structures with a job valuation (cost of labor & materials) of $50,000.00 or more or who construct any swimming pool with a job valuation of $5,000.00 or more are required to have a general contractors license. Subcontractors performing minimum contracts including labor and materials of $50,000 ($5,000 swimming pools)  or more under contract to a licensed prime contractor must also be licensed by the General Contractors board. You may search for licensed General Contractors on the Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors website at https://genconbd.alabama.gov/Law.aspx.

Electrical contractors are required to hold an active Master Electricians license from the Alabama Electrical Contractors Board

Plumbing contractors are required to hold an active Master Plumbers license and gas contractors are required to hold an active Master Gas Fitters license from the Alabama Plumbers & Gas Fitters Examining Board.

Mechanical/HVAC contractors are required to hold an active HVAC license from the Alabama Heating & Air Conditioning Contractors Board.


FEMA FORMS:


     - Elevation Certificate Form & Instructions

     - LOMA Application & Instructions


BUILDING DEPARTMENT FORMS:

Home Builders Law Exemption Form (for property owner acting as their own contractor)

Authorized Agent Form