Q. What do I do if I drop my insurance?
A. If you drop your insurance you are required to turn your plate in to your local tag office within 30 days.
Q. Is there a fine for operating my vehicle without insurance?
A. Yes, the first fine is $200.00. The 2nd fine is $400.00
Q. How long to I have to register my vehicle after I purchase it?
A. 20 days, unless you have a dated temporary tag from the dealership.
Q. Is there a penalty if I renew my tag late?
A. Yes, $15.00 plus interest.
Q. I just moved here from another state, can I register my vehicle with my out of state driver license?
A. Yes, as long as the driver license is valid.
Q. Does my utility trailer have to be registered?
A. Yes, if you pull your trailer on the road, it must have a tag. (with the except of boat trailers)
Q. Am I required to have a Driver License in order to register a vehicle?
A: No. Click here for a list of acceptable documentation that can be used in lieu of a driver license.
Q. Does Alabama have specialty tags?
A. The Alabama Department of Revenue maintains the Plate Reservation Ordering System. You may go online yourself and view availability here. Customers may choose to reserve their plate and lettering online. However, to complete the reservation, customers must come into their local tag office & pay all applicable fees. Please note: If you are upgrading your tag & it is not due for renewal, the current plate must be turned in before the personalized tag can be processed.