Changes to mandatory liability insurance laws take effect January 1, 2020
Please note: The Baldwin County Probate office is responsible for clearing MLI records that are populated by the
Alabama Department of Revenue. Baldwin County Probate does not populate the questionnaires and does not generate the
insurance verification date inquiries.
Is your car inoperable or stored? If so, remember Alabama is a mandatory liability insurance (MLI) state. If you have a motor vehicle registration plate–commonly known as a “car tag”– on your vehicle, you MUST have insurance. If your vehicle is stored or inoperable but you still have your plate, plan ahead and voluntarily surrender your plate (tag) BEFORE a lapse in insurance coverage. Surrendering your tag before your insurance lapses will prevent the assignment of tag reinstatement fees when the Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR) suspends your tag for lapsed insurance. Reinstatement fees start at $200 per vehicle. Beginning January 1, 2020, drivers may claim an exemption for a stored or inoperable vehicle only once when insurance lapses prior to voluntarily surrendering their tags. Note: this exemption is only applicable within 30 days of the MLI verification notice from ADOR.
For in depth questions related to a questionnaire you have received please visit one of our four locations. You can call to schedule an appointment: 251-239-4311 or visit our scheduling portal.
Mandatory Liability Insurance – Alabama Department of Revenue
Be Sure to Insure (besuretoinsureal.com)